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To: DSS_Licensing 
Subject: General Procedures and Information for Licensure Update 

 

The attached file is being sent to assisted living facilities and adult day care 
centers from the Virginia Department of Social Services Email Distribution Service.  

***Please do not reply to this email.*** 
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MEMORANDUM 

 

TO:    Licensed Assisted Living Facilities 

  Licensed Adult Day Care Centers 

 

FROM:    Tara Davis-Ragland, Director, Division of Licensing – Adult Programs 

 

DATE: September 21, 2017 

 

SUBJECT:  Revisions to General Procedures and Information for Licensure 

 

The Division of Licensing Programs’ regulation, 22 VAC 40-80 General Procedures and 

Information for Licensure, has been revised to conform with changes made to the Code of Virginia 

by the 2017 Session of the General Assembly. This action was exempt from the full Administrative 

Process Act regulatory process because the sole purpose of the revision was only to incorporate 

changes in state law. 

 

The amended General Procedures and Information for Licensure was published as a final regulation 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations on September 18, 2017. (Volume 34, Issue 2)  The website 

is:  http://register.dls.virginia.gov   

 

The effective date of the amended regulation is October 19, 2017.   

 

The amendment to General Procedures and Information for Licensure that affects the adult licensing 

program is found in 22 VAC 40-80-340.6.e which changes the aggregate amount of civil penalties 

in assisted living facilities to not exceed $10,000 from a 24-month period to a 12-month period of 

time:  

 

“Assessing a civil penalty for each day an assisted living facility is or was out of compliance 

with the terms of its license and the health, safety, and welfare of residents are at risk. The 

aggregate amount of such civil penalties shall not exceed $10,000 in any 12-month period. 

Criteria for imposition of civil penalties and amounts, expressed in ranges, are developed by the 

board and are based upon the severity, pervasiveness, duration, and degree of risk to the health, 

safety, or welfare of residents. Such civil penalties shall be applied by the commissioner in a 

consistent manner;”   (Reference: Code of Virginia § 63.2-1709.2) 

 

If you have any questions, please contact your licensing inspector.  

 

Thank you 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/
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