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ADMINISTRATION 
 
22 VAC 40-185-40. Operational responsibilities.  
 
A. Applications for licensure shall conform with Chapters 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) and 

18 (§ 63.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia and the regulation 
entitled General Procedures and Information for Licensure, 22VAC40-80.  
 

B. Pursuant to § 63.2-1719, subsection C of § 63.2-1720, and § 63.2-1721 of the Code 
of Virginia and the regulation entitled Background Checks for Child Welfare 
Agencies, 22VAC40-191, the applicant and any agent at the time of application who 
is or will be involved in the day-to-day operations of the center or who is or will be 
alone with, in control of, or supervising one or more of the children, shall be of good 
character and reputation and shall not be guilty of an offense as defined in § 63.2-
1719 of the Code of Virginia.  

 
C. The sponsor shall afford the commissioner or his agents the right at all reasonable 

times to inspect facilities and to interview his agents, employees, and any child or 
other person within his custody or control, provided that no private interviews may be 
conducted with any child without prior notice to the parent of such child.  

 
D. The license shall be posted in a place conspicuous to the public (§ 63.2-1701 of the 

Code of Virginia).  
 
E. The operational responsibilities of the licensee shall include, but not be limited to, 

ensuring that the center's activities, services, and facilities are maintained in 
compliance with these standards, the center's own policies and procedures that are 
required by these standards, and the terms of the current license issued by the 
department.  

 
F. Every center shall ensure that any advertising is not misleading or deceptive as 

required by § 63.2-1713 of the Code of Virginia.  
 
G. The center shall meet the proof of child identity and age requirements as stated in § 

63.2-1809 of the Code of Virginia.  
 
H. The sponsor shall maintain public liability insurance for bodily injury for each center 

site with a minimum limit of at least $500,000 each occurrence and with a minimum 
limit of $500,000 aggregate.  
 
1. A public sponsor may have equivalent self-insurance that is in compliance with 

the Code of Virginia.  
 

 


