Virginia Department of Social Services Medicaid Fact Sheet #32 **PREGNANT WOMEN**

The following information is given as a guideline only. For Medicaid eligibility to be determined, an application must be filed with the local department of social services in your locality.

The Pregnant Women category is for pregnant women of any age.

The local department of social services must have certain information to determine your eligibility for Medicaid. If the required information is taken to the agency or mailed with the application form, the processing time could be shortened. To be eligible for Medicaid as a Pregnant Woman you must:

- Be a resident of Virginia. Your statement will be accepted unless there is reason to question it.
- Be a United States citizen or meet the immigration status requirements for Medicaid. Citizenship and identity or immigration status must be verified.
- Have a Social Security number or show proof of application for a Social Security number.
- Provide the estimated date of your delivery.
- Provide information about the status you use to file your federal income tax return.
- Assign all rights to medical support and payment of medical care from any third party to the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS). This includes providing identifying information about other health insurance you have to the eligibility worker. Also, you must notify DMAS if you receive money meant to cover medical expenses, such as a settlement resulting from a lawsuit, and send DMAS any funds received for medical care that was already paid for by Medicaid.
- Have income below specified levels. Your income and the income of your spouse and children may be counted. Electronic data verification sources including the Federal HUB may verify your income. If your income cannot be verified through the data match, you will be asked to provide verification, such as a pay stubs or a written statement from the employer. Other income must be verified by an appropriate source. Increases in income after the date you are found eligible for Medicaid are not counted.
- Resources, such as real and personal property, are not counted for the Pregnant Woman Medicaid program.

Pregnant Women Income Limits (143% of FPL) January 19, 2023

Medicaid Household Size		143% FPL	143% FPL
		Yearly Amount	Monthly Amount
A pregnant woman is at minimum	2	\$28,200	\$2,350
	3	\$35,550	\$2,963
	4	\$42,900	\$3,575
	5	\$50,251	\$4,188
	6	\$57,601	\$4,801
	7	\$64,951	\$5,413
	8	\$72,301	\$6,026
Each Additional Person Add		\$7,351	\$613

If all citizenship and other eligibility factors are met in the month you apply for Medicaid as a Pregnant Woman, eligibility for this program will begin the first day of the application month and you may be entitled to a three-month retroactive determination.

Individuals eligible as a pregnant women will continue to be eligible for Medical Assistance through the end of the 12th month after the end of their pregnancy, Newborns born to a Medicaid eligible Pregnant Woman are eligible until their 1st birthday. After their 1st birthday, they will require a redetermination of eligibility for further coverage. **Exceptions:**

(1) coverage on the basis of being a lawfully residing pregnant woman under the Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act (CHIPRA) of 2009
(2) coverage for woman enveloping EAMIS MOMS and

(2) coverage for women enrolled in FAMIS MOMS and

(3) women enrolled in FAMIS Prenatal Care. Coverage in each group continues for two months past the delivery date. Eligibility for coverage in other covered groups will be evaluated prior to closure. Newborns born to women eligible for FAMIS PC must apply to be evaluated for ongoing Medicaid coverage.

You can file an application for Medicaid online at <u>www.commonhelp.virginia.gov</u> or by calling the **CoverVA Call Center at 855-242-8282.** Applications are also available online at <u>http://www.dss.virginia.gov/benefit/medical_assistance/forms.cgi</u> and can be completed and mailed/faxed/ or dropped off to the local department of social services. You can also request a Medicaid application be mailed to you.

You can find the address and phone number for your local DSS at <u>http://www.dss.virginia.gov/localagency/</u>. You do not need to visit the office to file an application.

If you have questions or need assistance in completing your Medicaid application, contact your local department of social services or the **CoverVA Call Center at 855-242-8282.**