Click Here for Additional Resources
Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA) and Tribal Partnerships

The Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA) of 1978 is Federal law that governs the removal and out-of-home placement of American Indian children. ICWA established standards for the placement of Indian children in foster and adoptive homes and enabled Tribes and families to be involved in child welfare cases. Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) has 11 state and federally recognized tribes. There has been renewed engagement with our tribal partners as the Commonwealth continues to build bridges with tribal communities. The collaboration with these 11 tribes has proven to be invaluable for continued dialogue, partnership, and to identify additional avenues for VDSS to support tribes.

Learn more about Virginia's recognized tribes.

Click here for more information on ICWA.

Meeting Minutes & Agenda




Google Translate Logo

(deaf or hard-of-hearing):

(800) 828-1120, or 711